Goals for 2019

Every January 1, I compile a lengthy list of goals I hope to accomplish over the next calendar year. Inevitably, I complete half to 3/4 of my list, but never entirely, and I’m disappointed in myself. And not because it’s a bunch of hard things, but more because it’s just a lot to try to do. 365 days seems like a lot, and it seems like it should be easy to do quite a bit in that time, but when you add in work and life, sometimes the reality is that you just don’t have as much time as you’d like. So this year, I’ve decided to shorten my list by about half.

Ladies and gents, I give you my list of goals for 2019:

  1. Go all in with Keto.
    • Keto helps PCOS, which is something I have and is a part of the reason for my infertility. I have had multiple friends who have gotten pregnant after doing Keto. I have nothing to lose but weight.
  2. Take another Central Market class
    • Jack and I have taken a class two out of our three anniversaries, plus we did another one in the middle of the year last year, and we’ve thoroughly enjoyed the experience. And yes, we have gone on to use the recipes we’ve learned later.
    • I would welcome another class with Jack, of course, but I also would love to do one with friends.
  3. Travel
    • Traveling is in my blood. “I feel it in my fingers, I feel it in my toes.” To not travel would be, in my opinion, to not live my best, fullest life. We don’t have to travel around the world or spend thousands of dollars we don’t currently have to have a meaningful vacation. We just need to go somewhere, whether we visit NYC again, or drive a couple hours south to the coast, or head into the Hill Country. I just want to go somewhere. I’d also love to do a trip with my girlfriends and one with my mom.
  4. Go to church regularly.
    • Last year, we joined University United Methodist and, soon after, the choir. We enjoyed it immensely, but then we had a miscarriage and then I stage managed a show, and suddenly we were not regularly going to either. We need to get back on track.
  5. Read 6 books.
    • That’s 1 book every 2 months. I think this should be doable. Especially when my job involves planning author events. It should be a no-brainer. And my current list of books to read is quite extensive.
  6. Go on more double dates!
    • Some of our favorite dates have been with friends, so why not do more of this? And not just with the same couples, even though we love them. It’s just great to do and see new things and people.
  7. 1 date a month with the husband. Duh.
  8. Walk more in prep for runDisney Wine & Dine 2020
    • In 2020, I’ll be 40. O.O As such, my goal is to join my friends in participating in runDisney’s Wine & Dine race. This includes a 5k, 10k, and half marathon over the course of a few days. It seems like a lot, and right now I’m not sure it’s something I can accomplish, but I plan to train to get there. And if I am not able to successfully do it, well, at least I tried and trained and did something to make myself healthier. Can’t go wrong with that.
  9. Have more girls nights out.
    • Date nights are fun, but I need my girls. Nuff said.
  10. Learn how to use my Cricut.
    • Husband bought me a Cricut for my birthday…last May. And I have yet to learn how to use it. He’s probably convinced it was a waste of his money and that it’ll just sit there, collecting dust (he’s never said that). I know there’s a lot I could do with it – even making things I could sell on Etsy. Several of the things I got for family gifts this year came from Etsy, and I’m about 99.9% sure they were done with a Cricut or similar device. WHY PAY SOMEONE TO DO WHAT I KNOW I CAN DO!?

Alright – that’s it. Ten things to help keep my year busy, exciting, and engaging in many ways. Nothing too hard or stressful. No actual resolutions. Just goals of how to live my best, healthiest life, and to work my way to making other dreams become realities.

Got ideas for how I can make some of these things happen? Book suggestions? Ideas for date nights or girls nights? I’m all ears, and I welcome your thoughts.

4 thoughts on “Goals for 2019

  1. Good goals!! Get a library card and download the Overdrive app. Checking out digital books has saved me so much money and has also allowed me to “try out” different genres and authors.

    Like

  2. Wine and Dine was my first half marathon back when it was still a night race. The weekend itself is always so Magical and I’m planning on running it again in 2020 after taking a break from Disney races (they get pricey). I’ve done the full challenges a number of times and I promise, so long as you train your best you’ll be just fine to complete all three- the most important part is to HAVE FUN!!!!

    Like

Leave a comment